Health Benefits Trust


  • Authority: Pinal County Health Benefits Trust Declaration and A.R.S. §11-981
  • Membership: Five Joint Trustees. No more than one Trustee may be a member of the Board of Supervisors and no more than one may be an employee of Pinal County or the Pinal County Judicial Branch. The Trustees should have experience in at least one of the following areas: health care administration, employee benefits plan administration, health insurance, or financial analysis.
  • Term of Office: Three Years
  • Powers: Responsibilities and Authority Assigned to the Trustees. The Trustees have delegated responsibility for and are authorized to exercise the following duties and authority in their role as Trustees: 4.1.1. Provide general oversight of the Trust and serve in an advisory capacity to the Board of Supervisors. 4.1.2. Cooperate with County staff and officials who provide the day-to-day management and administration of the Trust, and with any third-party administrators under contract with the County. 4.1.3. Review quarterly the financial position of the Trust to ensure sufficient funds exist to pay outstanding and future benefits, losses, and claims and to pay for risk management consultation. 4.1.4. In consult with the Trust Administrator, submit an annual report to the Board through the County Manager regarding the Trust, including its current status and value, operating results, claims experience and activity, investment income, and trends in benefit use. 4.1.5. Make recommendations as they deem appropriate regarding the management of the Trust, including such things as levels of risk retention and transfer (reinsurance); funding levels; investment of the Trust; and reserve requirements and amounts. 4.1.6. Whenever desired by the Trustees or requested by the County, the Trustees shall retain an actuary at the expense of the Trust to report to the Trustees and each member of the Board upon the adequacy of the reserves held hereunder and any other appropriate matters.


  • Mike Goodman, Supervisor District 2
    August 30, 2021 to August 29, 2024
  • Matthew Busby
    January 5, 2022 to November 30, 2024
  • Rona Curphy
    August 30, 2021 to August 29, 2024
  • Ginger Fligger
    December 15, 2021 to December 14, 2024
  • Kelandra (Kelli) Munroe
    August 30, 2021 to August 29, 2024


View Agendas & Minutes