The owner of the vehicle is responsible for paying all fees and charges in order to have the vehicle released. If someone else was driving, you may have to seek civil action against the driver for any expenses you incur as a result of the impound.
Show All Answers
If your vehicle was towed for 28-872:
The registered owner or lien holder is eligible to have a hearing, but you must request a hearing within 10 days from the date of the tow by calling 520-866-5277 or visiting the Post Storage Hearing page on the website. It is not necessary to have a hearing to retrieve your vehicle, but you may request a hearing to dispute the reason your vehicle was towed. You may get your vehicle out of the tow lot at any time without a hearing. If your vehicle was towed for 28-3511.
Visit the Impounded Vehicle Information page for information on who is eligible for a hearing.
Under the law, the owner, the owner's spouse, their agent (such as an attorney) or a lien holder are the only persons who can have the vehicle released. If you are the vehicle's owner and your license is still not valid at the end of the 30-day period, you can bring someone with you who has a valid license in order to get your vehicle back.
A Vehicle Release Form can be obtained at any Pinal County Sheriff’s Office Substation.
Yes. Current vehicle registration or a valid salvage or dismantle certificate of title is required by law. Contact the Motor Vehicle Division for more information.
No, you must first completely meet all legal title and registration requirements before the vehicle can be returned to you. This can be done through the Arizona Motor Vehicle Department. If the vehicle is registered out of state you must either register the vehicle in Arizona or deal with the state in which it is currently registered. If you sell, transfer the title, or add a new person on the registration after your vehicle is impounded or towed, they are not authorized to have a hearing.
Under Arizona law, the towing company may file for an abandoned title and seek ownership of the vehicle if it is left at the tow yard unclaimed for more than 10 days. If you have difficulty paying for the towing and storage, you should at least contact the towing company if you wish to retain ownership of your vehicle.
Yes. The owner would have to prove that this had been corrected and their driving privileges re-instated, at which time we will release the vehicle upon payment of Administrative Towing Fees and towing and storage charges. You must bring:
Yes, provided you meet the below requirements and use an agent.
Your license will be accepted provided it is valid in your country of domicile and your privilege to drive in Arizona has not been suspended. Presentation of a fraudulent license is a crime.
Yes, the owner is still liable for the Administrative Towing Fees and all towing and storage fees up to the actual date of release.
No, the towing company is not allowed to release an impounded vehicle without the Vehicle Release Form from the Pinal County Sheriff’s Office. You must follow the claim process outlined on the How To Retrieve My Vehicle page of this website.
No. As long as the officer impounded your vehicle according to the law and our procedures, the outcome of the trial does not matter.
Hearings are not needed unless you believe your vehicle was unjustly towed. You may Request A Hearing in this case. There is no reason to contact the Sheriff’s Office if your vehicle was towed for this reason. You may pick your vehicle up immediately by paying the tow and impound fees at the tow yard.
No, you do not. Most people who do not meet one of the exemptions will not request or need a hearing. In many cases, you must simply wait until after the 30th day of the tow or impound. But, in all cases, your vehicle registration must be valid in all aspects or you must present a salvage or dismantle certificate of title. To find out if you qualify to have a Post Storage Hearing, you can visit the Impounded Vehicle Information page of this website.
We must receive your request for a hearing not later than 10 days from the date of the vehicle impoundment. If your request is received after the 10-day time period, we will not grant you a hearing on this matter.
The hearings for impounds are conducted at the Pinal County Sheriff’s Office Substations. If you were stopped and your vehicle impounded in or near the following cities, Superior, Gold Canyon, Apache Junction, Florence, and San Tan Valley, your impound hearing will be held at:40815 N Ironwood DriveNumber 101San Tan Valley, AZ 85140
If you were stopped and your vehicle impounded in or near the cities of San Manuel, Oracle, Arizona City, Coolidge, Casa Grande or Maricopa, your impound hearing will be held at:820 E Cottonwood LaneBuilding CCasa Grande, AZ 85122
Impound hearings will be held on the 1st and 3rd Wednesday of each month.
Post Storage Hearings can be requested by calling 520-866-5277 or visiting the Post Storage Hearing page of this website.
In order to have your vehicle released prior to the 30 days required by law, you must be able to prove that certain special circumstances exist. See the question regarding how a vehicle may be released early.
There is an Administrative Towing Fee of $150 that shall be paid at the time of the hearing. The fee may be paid with a cashier's check, money order, or a major credit card. There is a $5 processing fee for credit card transactions. Cash will not be accepted. Towing and storage fees are paid to the towing company storing the vehicle.
No, an attorney is not needed. The hearing process is informal and very brief.
You may be eligible for a Post Storage Hearing. Visit the Impounded Vehicle Information page.
No. Only the person/s or lien holders on the registration at the time the vehicle was towed/impounded are eligible for a hearing for an early release.
No. Only the person/persons or lien holders on the registration at the time the vehicle was towed/impounded are eligible for a hearing for an early release.
Impound Yard hours are Monday through Friday, 8 am to 5 pm, and Saturday 8 am to noon. The after-hours gate fees apply on Saturdays.
On some holidays they are not open and it would be considered "after hours" and additional fees would apply - call the tow company to confirm.
Yes. If you come "after hours" you may have to wait a considerable time for a tow truck driver to be dispatched to the impound yard to open it for you. It could be an hour or more.
Please call the "After Hours" telephone number posted on the sign at the storage facility. An additional "after-hours" fee will apply.